My parents wanted me to make them feel better

They used me to make themselves feed good. I had to do what they said, I had to behave, I had to do as I was told, all so they could have life as they wanted it to be.

My parents said we come first, we are the important ones, you are not. You have to be how we want you to be. My parents said you have to please us before you please yourself.

My parents said, this is our home, this is our world, you have to fit in with it. We are not fitting in with you. You don’t matter, only we do.

My parents didn’t put themselves in my place and consider how I might be feeling – how they might have been making me feel.

And when I complained they said, too bad, whilst you’re with us it’s how we want it to be, when you leave us then you can have it how you want it to be.

My life was for them, it wasn’t for me.

My parents didn’t give wholly themselves to me to make me feel good, to give me a good life. My parents didn’t say you come first, you are the most important, we’ve had our lives, you are just beginning yours, so we’ll do all you need us to do for you. My parents didn’t do all they could so I felt pleased and happy and loved by them. My parents didn’t make me feel the whole world was there for me.

My parents made me feel rejected and unwanted, that I was a bother and a nuisance – an inconvenience, something they would have rather not have had.

My parents used me to gain power.  They said we are the all-powerful ones, you are not. And so they fucked up my life and my ability to use my own power to give myself a good life. They took all my power and prevented me from having it, so I am now powerless.

My parents made me sacrifice myself for them. My parents told me they loved me.

Leave a comment